Staff report

TROY — The Miami Soil & Water Conservation District had a smaller gathering of 55 individuals at the 16th annual All Ag Annual Meeting and Banquet held Sept. 3 at the Duke Lundgard Building at the Miami County Fairgrounds.

Participants wore masks and socially distanced at the event.

The agenda included business conducted for the Miami SWCD, Miami County Farm Bureau, Miami County Ag Society and NRCS, with reports sent in by partners OSU-Extension Miami County and FSA.

Jennifer Coleman represented the Ohio Soybean Council with an informative speech.

The Miami SWCD honored several individuals during the event. Ann Shuttleworth was named 2020 Cooperator of the Year. Shuttleworth’s been a devoted land steward and supporter for agriculture and natural resources and along with taking advantage of programs and practices, has entered over 130 acres of her land outside Casstown in the Ohio Department of Agriculture’s Local Ag Easement Purchase Program, ensuring that the property will be farmland forever.

Mindy Tipton, a teacher at Bethel Middle School, was named our 2020 Educator of the Year for her program titled Technology 7, intended for her seventh grade classes and meant to inspire them to seek and research the latest in innovations and technology that boost progress while benefiting or not harming the environment. She did not attend the meeting, but received her award the next day at her school.

Miami SWCD $750 scholarship recipients were also recognized. Fairlawn graduate and current Ag Systems Management major at The Ohio State University, Garrett Smail, son of Kreig and Debbie Smail and Newton graduate and current Parks and Museum Education major at Hocking College, Kimberly Laughman, daughter of Gene and Amy Laughman.

Miami SWCD supervisor elections were also conducted at the meeting and concluded Sept. 16. Jeff Shoup was re-elected to the board and Brian Francis was elected to his first term as supervisor.