Foundation awards scholarship

MIAMI COUNTY — The Miami County Foundation converted to an online scholarship application process for all scholarships to be awarded for the 2020-2021 school year. Of the close to 200 well qualified applications, the Miami County Foundation has awarded 44 scholarships totaling $120,000.

Thelma Ross Dalton Scholarship: The Thelma Ross Dalton Scholarship Fund provides scholarships to selected residents of Miami County to further their post-high school education in any accredited college, trade/vocational or nursing/health related facility. Awarded to the following:

Allison Bornhorst — Piqua/University of Cincinnati

Allison Brunswick — Tipp City

Kara Chaney — Newton

Bailey Chaney — Newton

Brooke Deeter — Newton

Marie Ewing — Miami East/Huntington University Doctoral Program

Abby Gilfillen — Troy Christian

Jackson Goodall — Troy

Lily Hemm — Troy

AJ Heuker — Troy

Madison Hildebrand — Newton/Wright State University

Jeriah Hinton — Newton

Allison Huffman — Tipp City/University of Notre Dame

Elizabeth Huffman — Tipp City/The Ohio State College of Medicine

William Huffman — Tipp City/University of Notre Dame

Abigail Hughes — Tipp City

Brennan Larned — Tipp City

Kaitlyn Misirian — Troy Christian

Jonathan Post — Troy

Alexander Pouty — Troy

Kimberly Riquelme — Milton-Union

Lauren Setzkorn — Troy/Ohio University

Taylor Stevens — Troy/Concordia University

Elijah Williams — Troy

Richard and Doris (Taylor) High Scholarship: The Richard and Doris High Scholarship is awarded to Newton High School seniors majoring in engineering, nursing, or education. Awarded to Kara Chaney, Brooke Deeter and Cameron Stine.

Don Favorite Deeter M. D. Memorial Scholarship: The Don Deeter, M.D. Memorial Scholarship is awarded a resident of Newton Township, OH, and majoring in science at a four-year college/university. Awarded to Brooke Deeter.

Miami County Agricultural Leadership Scholarship: The Agriculture Leadership Scholarship is awarded to a Miami County graduating senior seeking a degree in an agricultural study or related field. Awarded to Alex Hayes and Chloee Thomas.

Miami County Medical Society Scholarship: The Miami County Medical Society scholarship awarded to selected residents of Miami County who have been accepted into or who are pursuing an approved course of study to become a medical doctor at an accredited medical school, college, or university. Awarded to Allison Huffman, Elizabeth Huffman and William Huffman.

Newton Board of Education/American Legion Scholarship: The Newton Board of Ed/American Legion scholarship is presented to Newton High School senior(s) to further their post-high school education. Awarded to Deanna Carine, Bailey Chaney, Kara Chaney, Brooke Deeter, Jeriah Hinton, Kimberly Laughman, Corrine Luedeke and Cameron Stine.

J.A.K. Scholarship: The J.A.K. Scholarship is awarded to a selected Newton High School senior enrolling in an accredited vocational training program or technical school. Jeriah Hinton received the award.

Leland and Shirley Mott Memorial Scholarship: The Leland and Shirley Mott Memorial Scholarship is awarded to a selected Troy High School senior majoring in Art or Art Education. Awarded to Frida Hoening.

Dorothy Bleil Richi Scholarship: The Dorothy Bleil Richi Scholarship is awarded to a St. Patrick School student or graduate enrolled or attending Lehman Catholic High School. Tanner Black was honored with the scholarship.

The Miami County Foundation administers and distributes these scholarships annually. For more information on scholarships offered through the Miami County Foundation, visit the website at

Those wishing to donate to a scholarship fund may do so by mail P.O. Box 1526, Piqua, OH 45356 or online at